Tags

, , , , ,

Diesel will remain a carnivore.

I love meat. The bloodier the better. Hell, it could probably still be moving and I would love it. Cow, lamb, pork, chicken and whatever my Daddy shot last weekend, they all make me happy. Don’t get me wrong, I adore vegetables too and eat them all the time. I just really love bloody, red meat and prefer it. But then a few weeks ago during one of my insomnia bouts I watched a movie on Netflix called Forks over Knives and I find myself attempting to live life as a vegetarian.

Forks over Knives (quoting their twitter bio) examines the claim that most degenerative diseases can be controlled, or even reversed, by rejecting animal-based and processed foods. It was fascinating. And terrifying. Clogged arteries are a huge contributor to many things including Alzheimer’s. That scares me a lot as I have had a traumatic brain injury, but the part when they described what happens during a bypass surgery made me cringe. THEY CRACK OPEN YOUR RIBS WITH A SAW. I want no part of that thank you very much. The film is very pro-vegan, but I like cheese and eggs and yogurt and bread too much to ever actually go vegan. Also the vegans I know do strange things like make their dogs eat a vegetarian diet and wear hemp shoes which baffles me. I am weird enough as it is, I don’t need any more help.

The next day I decided to start eating a primarily plant based diet, give up caffeine and cut down on processed foods (packaged). This isn’t a really foreign subject to me, in 1987 I was a vegetarian for 14 months during my infatuation with River Phoenix. His whole family were vegetarians and I needed to make sure I was as well when he realized I was his soulmate.

This time around I find things to be a bit easier. Many restaurants offer actual vegetarian options. My favorite Chinese restaurant will even make their dishes with soy “meat” that is actually pretty good if I ask. Grocery stores have tons of vegetarian products readily available too. The setbacks are still limited entree choices and restaurants’ heavy hand with salt. I have a salt sensitivity (read: crazy high blood pressure) and I’m still not sure why they load up everything with salt.

It’s been a few weeks now and I’ve noticed a few positive changes. Food seems to taste better to me. My insatiable sweet tooth that use to demand cake and frosting now screams loudly for pineapple chunks and dried cherries. My appetite is a little bit smaller too. I use to snack a lot in between meals and while I still do a little bit, it is not every day. The plague of insomnia isn’t gone, but when I actually fall asleep I am staying asleep much longer than before.

I plan to eat meat when I really crave it or just want some as life is about balance and not the extremes but eating primarily plants seems to suit me. Hopefully it will keep my arteries healthy so I never need my chest cracked open!

